Concept and Ideation Task 3 – Animation Research

In order to get a better understanding of how to carry out this task and create a stop-motion animation of my own, I decided to look at other sources, such as online videos and webpages that focused on this type of animation. Although I’m more used to digital animation, I’ve wanted to try animating like this since I saw stop-motion films (e.g. Wallace & Gromit, Chicken Run, etc.) as a child.

The picture below shows an example of a set used by a professional studio to create stop-motion animations.

I found researching this subject particularly useful, as I haven’t done a lot of stop-motion animation up till this point. The final result that I will be animating will follow my chosen theme of the “water cycle”.

The following links were some of the examples I found most useful for my research:

http://www.aardman.com/ – The official website of the famous Aardman Animations LTD. This page gives details on the company and its previous projects.

http://www.awn.com/ – Short for, Animation World Network, AWN reports on animated movies as well as other types of animation. This expansive website also provides other interesting material such as interviews with famous people in the industry, as well as trailers, previews and articles associated with animation.

traceloops.tumblr.com/ – A useful and cleverly presented collection of animations, made from different techniques (e.g. hand-drawing, rotoscoping, etc.)

Leave a Reply

