Development and Realisation Research 2 – World Maps

Presenting one area of the world (if not the entire world) will be a crucial visual element in my final poster. This especially applies to my subject of “Who lives the longest?” where one of the main features will be the geography of the world.

To help give me inspiration for displaying the world on my poster, I looked through different issues of National Geographic for secondary research. I chose this particular example, as most of the issues have articles discussing different things and events happening worldwide. They usually include diagrams showing the world as well as select areas of it that are being affected.

The following are examples of how they usually present the countries of the world. The diagrams have a somewhat simplistic style with a small use of colours, that I intend to have in my poster.

Click to see in full-size

IMG_4142 IMG_4145 IMG_4147 IMG_4149 IMG_4153 IMG_4154 IMG_4157 IMG_4159 IMG_4162 IMG_4163 IMG_4165

As seen here, both the shapes and colours of the countries add to the visual layout and presentation of the information shown in these images. I have started designing my poster in Adobe Illustrator, while bearing that important factor in mind.

Leave a Reply

