Development and Realisation – Final Poster

The last development changes to my poster have finally been completed and I have reached the final design and layout for my infographic poster. I decided that changing the orientation of the poster to landscape had given me more of a chance to display more information and data, as well as make better use of the space available.

Because the poster had more space now, I added a few more countries to make my selection of data more informative and varied for the audience. These important examples included the UK, Germany and Brazil, represented respectively by Big Ben, Brandenburg Gate and Christ the Redeemer.

I applied the same image editing process for these landmarks as I did for the other main landmarks. This gave all of the landmarks a consistent, simple black and white style. I made sure to keep as many of the recognisable elements of these landmarks as I could when editing and re-sizing these images.

Screen Shot 2015-01-10 at 14.39.07 Screen Shot 2015-01-10 at 16.19.50 Screen Shot 2015-01-10 at 17.46.46 Screen Shot 2015-01-10 at 19.22.25 Screen Shot 2015-01-10 at 19.22.32

Overall, I’m very pleased with how the final result looks, and the only changes I would consider making to it are small design choices (e.g. possibly lightening the shade of blue in the colour of Germany). I feel that the simple style of my poster and the lack of text taking up space worked well together to create an end result which is visually informative. I’m glad this unit had given me the opportunity of learning the ropes of Adobe Illustrator (software used in the industry) as well as creating something interesting with it.

The finished poster document can be seen here:

Final Who Lives the Longest Poster

Additional image sources:

United Kingdom (Big Ben): http://www.destination360.com/europe/uk/london/big-ben

Germany (Brandenburg Gate): http://britannica.com/EBchecked/topic/77684/Brandenburg-Gate

Brazil (Christ the Redeemer): https://travelblog.org/Photos/6996252

Leave a Reply

