Design for Digital Media Environments – Contributing to a Public Media Space

In my previous blog post, I briefly introduced open media spaces and what they were used for. Media spaces will be essential to our unit as one of our main projects will be to create one, so it’s important to learn how they work and how they are implemented in a digital environment. Last week, we received our first task from the Design for Digital Media Environments unit, which was to contribute to an online, open media space and document what we added. It was interesting choosing a particular open source media space, as there are so many to choose from nowadays.

OpenStreetMap is another globally used media space, much like Wikipedia. However, OpenStreetMap is vastly different as it gives people access to a map of the world, which is openly available for editing. Users can provide information by adding locations to the map and writing additional details about them. This was the media space that I chose to contribute to for this task. Over the week, I learnt how to use this website as well as the different editing features that it provides for its users. As seen below, I used different functions to label small areas around Bournemouth University’s Talbot Campus.

There are three main features that users can implement when editing the map: Point, Line and Area. Point is used to label very small areas on the map, such as bus stops. Lines are used for roads and Area is used for bigger spaces, such as fields and parking areas (as seen in the screenshot below, I created a grey area for a parking space near Bournemouth University).

10 The following screenshots show my first changes to OpenStreetMap and how I carried out these edits and modifications.

1 2 3 4 5 6  8 9  11 12

I plan to continue adding to this open media space as I carry on with this course; so far I’ve only made three changes to the map, but as I go to different places I can use OpenStreetMap as a way of documenting information about various areas, buildings and landmarks. 7

Leave a Reply

